Life Lately

Life has a way of keeping me busy these days.  I didn’t mean to stay away for so long.  I hope all of you are doing well.   Not too much news-worthy happenings here at the farmhouse, just the day to day living.

The weather has been very hot & humid, but we finally got a good rain a couple of days ago.  That means the humidity is even worse, but we just have to deal with it and move on.  I am so ready for Fall and the cooler weather to come.   Fall is one of life’s wonderful blessings.

The other weekend, we had a somewhat cool day.  Hubby was home doing yard work and fiddling around outside.  I made squash soup and grilled cheese sandwiches for lunch.   If you love yellow summer squash, you will love this soup.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s the recipe:

~2 (15 ounce) cans stewed squash (drained)

~1 cup skim milk

~1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

~salt & pepper to taste

~sour cream for garnish

Makes 4 big bowls of soup

Put all ingredients into Vitamix or food processor except sour cream.  Process until very smooth.   Can be warmed in the microwave or on the stove top.   This recipe also works with other cooked veggies, such as broccoli and cauliflower.   I like to serve with a dollop of sour cream on top or sprinkle with a little extra cheese.

My Vitamix cooks the soup while it is processing, so it’s ready in six minutes without any added steps.  I didn’t really believe this when we first bought the Vitamix, but it really does.  It also makes the very best fruit smoothies.

In other news, my granddaughter started soccer last week.  So far she is enjoying it, although she is very tired after practice. Her first game will be coming up soon.  I hope the weather will cooperate.

I guess it’s time to get busy again.

Be blessed!

4 thoughts on “Life Lately

  1. Oh Gosh, I Love your new blog so Much!!! I got a bunch of Gail Wilson kits from that sale too, The Queen Anne kit and the little Peddler Doll being the two doll ones – and Heavens you are Much farther along than me – I Love your Joel Ellis and how she is coming along. Please keep posting in process pictures, the directions are truly daunting to me anyway! (Check with Gail I think your body was supposed to come with holes drilled already) Vonnie looks so Pleased with her Gorgeous new bed – Congratulations! LuV, TiGGy

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh thank you, Gita! Daunting is a good way to put it! Only some of the holes were pre-drilled and now that I am a bit farther along, I understand why some had to wait. Some things are just impossible to line up until after being glued. Hubby helped me with all the drilling, which was only 10 tiny holes. I hope to get a lot more done over the weekend, if possible. Congrats on your doll kits. I can’t wait to see them. You may hear a loud shout for joy when my JE doll is finally done! LOL! I will try to remember to take some pics tomorrow after I get the staining done, then the pegging and painting. I would truly love to finish her this weekend.

      And thanks about Vonnie’s new old bed. It’s so pretty! It really was a nice find. I had been looking for a long time for one that was a good size for her, but would still fit on her shelf. This one does, although it takes up most of the shelf, I still am very glad to have it. I need to blog about Hitty Jane’s whale tail bed. I am so far behind with blogging and reading. I wonder if I will ever catch up. Thanks for coming back to visit me. Hus right back to you & Tiggy!

      Like

Thank you for leaving a comment!

